Mitrakos Theodoros

Deputy Governor of the Bank of Greece 

Theodoros Mitrakos was born in the village of Doxa (Arcadia, Peloponnese) in 1962. He graduated with first class honours from the Faculty of Economics of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens and holds a PhD in Economics from the Athens University of Economics and Business.

He worked for the Centre of Planning and Economic Research – KEPE (1987-1988) and for the National Accounts Department of the Hellenic Statistical Authority – ELSTAT (1989-1997). Since 1997, he worked as an Economist with the Economic Analysis and Research Department of the Bank of Greece, where he created and developed the Department’s Real Estate Market Analysis Section. In 2010-2011, he served as vice-president of the Hellenic Public Real Estate Corporation.

In 2011, he was elected Assistant Professor at the Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences. As a Visiting Professor he also teaches in the post-graduate programme of the University of the Peloponnese.

He has participated in many international conferences and has several years of research and teaching experience. He has published articles in international journals and in collective volumes and has also co-authored six books, including “The Greek Banking Landscape and the International Financial Crisis” (in Greek), “The Steps of Immigrants in the Greek Economy” (in Greek), “Structural Change and Banking Employment”, and “Education and Labour Market” (in Greek), which won an award from the Academy of Athens. His research focus is on labour market issues, European and monetary policy, income distribution and the real estate market.

​Since March 2015, he is Deputy Governor of the Bank of Greece. In this capacity, he is responsible for the supervision of credit institutions and insurance undertakings, for the Bank’s property development and management and for the work carried out by the Government Financial Operations and Accounts Department, the Information Systems Department and the Accounting Department. Furthermore, he chairs the following committees of the Bank of Greece: the Property Management Committee, the Committee for the Management of the Common Capital, the Security Matters Committee, the IT Steering Committee and the Procurement Committee.

He is also Chairman of the Hellenic Deposit and Investment Guarantee Fund (HDIGF), Member of the Asset Disclosure Review Committee of the Hellenic Parliament and Board Member of the Public Debt Management Agency (PDMA). Moreover, he represents the Bank of Greece at the Economic and Financial Committee (EFC) of the European Union.